Student Consumer Information and Student Right To Know
In accordance with 34 CFR Part 668, students have the right to know certain information about Southwestern Oregon Community College including a variety of academic information, financial assistance information, institutional information, institutional security policies and crime statistics, information on completion or graduation rates, and athletic program participation rates and financial support data. To view this data go to Student Consumer Information. This page provides links to information about Southwestern Oregon Community College in accordance with the Higher Education Act's disclosure requirements.
Tuition and Fees
Tuition and fees are subject to change. Please click here to see current Tuition & Fees.
All courses carry a per course registration fee and a per credit incidental fee. All distance education courses carry a per course fee. These fees allow students access to campus services without additional cost such as:
- Computer labs
- Southwestern’s distance learning courses
- Lab courses
- Student Recreation Center
- Student activities
Some courses are offered as self-support and carry a fee amount that is required for course delivery and materials.
All students are charged fees regardless of service utilization. The College reserves the right to change tuition and fees at any time. This does not affect the right of the College President to levy special charges at any time should conditions make this necessary. A late fee may be assessed for original registrations processed after the start of the term. Registrations received after the end of the term may be assessed a $250 late registration fee.
Responsibility for Payment
Tuition and fees are assessed when students register. Students are ultimately responsible for enrolled courses or dropping them within the time required.
Students are responsible for payment arrangements at the time of registration. Southwestern mails reminder letters with account balances monthly. As a courtesy, account balance statements are emailed monthly. Account balances under $500 require payment in full or students may be withdrawn if payment is not received within five days of registration. Payments may be made by cash, check, money order, VISA, MasterCard or Discover Card. Please make checks payable to Southwestern Oregon Community College or pay on myLakerLink. Tuition and fees may be billed to an employer or an agency if the College has received the appropriate authorization.
Students have the option to set up a payment plan with monthly payments. A non-refundable fee of $32 per term is charged for the payment plans. Students who are under 18 years of age, must have the payment plan made in the parent's or guardian’s name. For payment options, please visit the Student First Stop Center in Dellwood Hall or call 541-888-7352 or the Curry Campus at 541-813-1667.
Educational Payment Plan Options
|Plan Type||Monthly Payments||Fee|
|Pay in full||At time of registration||none|
All delinquent debts will accrue interest at the rate of eighteen percent (18%) per annum in addition to a $30 per billing cycle (monthly) late fee. Accounts with balances after the term begins will be set up on a payment plan, which has a $32 per term contract preparation fee. A student who receives any form of financial aid during the loan payback period, will have the funds first applied to the balance to repay this loan. Students will pay all attorney’s fees, collection costs, and any other charges necessary for the collection of any monies owed to Southwestern. Students are responsible for all financial obligations regardless of receiving a statement. There is a charge for returned checks per college procedure.
Students who do not meet their financial obligations may be subject to, but not limited to:
- Being administratively withdrawn from course(s) which shall include loss of any tuition and fees paid and the permanent loss of all credits and/or grades for the term in which the withdrawal occurs;
- Withholding a certificate, diploma, or degree; and
- Prohibiting subsequent registrations until debt is paid.
Students who have a delinquent Accounts Receivable (AR) or who are in default on payment plans, Stafford Loans, Title IV, or who have other college debts will be allowed to register once the debt is paid in full or acceptable arrangements are made with the AR Technician. Students who are continuously delinquent or whose account has been sent to a collection agency will be required to pay at the time of registration. Delinquent accounts over 90 days old from the time of registration may be sent to a collection agency.
Students who stop attending their courses during the term must formally withdraw by either dropping their courses through myLakerLink or by submitting a drop form with the Student First Stop Center. Refunds are computed from the date of the formal withdrawal, not from the date the student stopped attending.
|Course Length||Refund Deadline|
|5 weeks or longer||Second Wednesday of the term at 5 p.m.|
|1 week to less than 5 weeks||Second day of the first week|
|1 week or less||Day before course first meets|
For courses five weeks or longer, a 100% refund is given if the formal withdrawal is completed by 5:00 p.m. of the end of the second Wednesday of the term.
For courses that are scheduled to meet more than one week and less than five weeks, a 100% refund will be given if the formal withdrawal is completed by the end of the second day of the first week the course is scheduled to meet.
For courses that are one week or less in duration, a 100% refund will be given if the formal withdrawal is completed by the end of the day before the first meeting. This applies to courses that start on the first day of the regular term (summer, fall, winter, spring) or at some other time during the term; it is possible that a student would have to withdraw from a course before the course actually meets to receive a full refund.
Students who feel that their circumstances are extraordinary and warrant exception from this process may appeal with documentation to the Student First Stop Center by completing a Request for Refund and Exception to Procedure form. Requests must be submitted within the current term with appropriate documentation.
The refund process begins the third week of the term in which the students are enrolled. Students who receive financial aid funds will receive a refund after any funds owed to the College or the U.S. Department of Education are deducted. When the refund amount is less than $5, students will be notified by mail to come to a Student First Stop Center to receive a cash disbursement.
Students withdrawing from courses after the refund period are responsible to pay the balance due on any federal student loans, payment plans and accounts receivable.